GJAC Founder Joan Teats

joan1924 – 2012

In addition to founding the Washington Junior Golf Association in 1977, Joan also founded the Girls Junior Americas Cup in 1978.  The boys enjoyed a version of this tournament for many years, and being “all about the girls”, Joan decided it was time to create a similar tournament where girls could showcase their team talents for college coaches.  Charter members of the GJAC tournament were; Northern California, San Diego, British Columbia, Southern California, Arizona, Washington, Oregon, Southern Nevada, Idaho, Alberta and Northern Nevada.  GJAC has grown since then to 18 teams, all located in the Western part of the US, Canada and Mexico.  This tournament is heavily recruited by College Coaches and a LOT OF FUN!!

A new award was created in 2014 called the
Joan Teats Inspirational Award (best team exhibiting the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, honesty, friendship and respect)

Here are the past winners of this award.

2014 – Hawaii (Team Captain Cathy Torchiana, Kristen Lei, Mari Nishiura,
Aiko Leong and Malia Nam).

2015 – Montana (Team Captain Mary Ann Rodman, Teigan Avery, Hayden Flohr, Coral Schulz and Morgan O’Neil).

2016 – Southern Nevada (Team Captain Ann Sunstrum, Annick Haczkiewicz, Sydney Smith, Danielle Oberlander and Ashley Lung).

2017 – Wyoming!  Kynsie Valdez, Victoria Owings, team captain Rachelle Pearson, Jocelyn Olson and Caleigh Essert.

2018 – Oregon!  Mary Scott Wolfe, Olivia Loberg, Victoria Gailey and Olivia Venderby.

2019 – San Diego!  L to R Kathleen Keomahavong, Napua Gossner, Captain Maranie Jaslowski, Nicole Neale, Estibaly Garcia-Rubio.

2020 – canceled COVID

2021 – Hawaii!  (Team Captain Anna Murata middle) L to R Leia Chung, Kara Kaneshiro, Teal Matsueda and Ashley Koga.

2022 – Idaho – L to R Team Captain Karen Darrington, Brooke Patterson, Kelli Ann Strand, Maddie Montoya and Chloe Singpraseuth

2023 – No. Nevada – Rya Montoya, Ashley Tarkanian, Captain Nancy Sullivan, Giana Zinke and Ella Rawson.

Team No. Nevada wins the Joan Teats Inspirational Award in 2023!

Team Rotation

©2024 Girls Junior Americas Cup. Built for the Girls Junior Americas Cup, Anna Atiagina, Victoria Moiseenko